Sapulpa cop shows off 102-pound weight loss on ‘The Biggest Loser’ finale

Being on “The Biggest Loser” wasn’t just about the weight loss for contestant David Jones.

It was about getting healthy so he would be around to enjoy life with his family.

The 51-year-old Sapulpa Police officer lost 102 pounds on NBC’s hit reality TV show, changed his diet and worked out up to four hours a day, at first on the “The Biggest Loser” ranch in California and then at home in Kiefer.

On Monday’s live season finale, he showed off his buff physique, down 33.22 percent to 205 from a starting weight of 307.

In a February Tulsa World interview, Jones had already lost 87 pounds but wanted to break 100 for the final weigh-in. He didn’t win the $100,000 at-home prize, but he was a winner, Jones said in a phone interview as he was heading for a flight back to Oklahoma.

“Going into the finale, I absolutely wasn’t worried about the numbers or winning the prize,” Jones said.

“That wasn’t the deal. I had something to prove to myself and everyone else that the oldest guy on the ranch was going to look great.”

He did – and, most importantly, he learned how to develop a healthy lifestyle.

Now, it’s all about the rest of his life: staying healthy, exercising and maintaining a healthy diet.

“I eat lots of good, healthy cooking and proteins and trying to keep my simple carbs at an absolute low. I get to eat lots of complex carbs and fruit, and I have to absolutely exercise every day,” said Jones, who was promoted to the rank of captain on the police force March 1.

“Those are the big things for me. My proteins now get baked. Everything, ordinarily, would be breaded and fried. Now it’s lots of baked chicken and baked fish, and red meat gets grilled.”

He said he still has weight to lose, but for the most part he’s working on maintaining his health. He is also no longer on medication for high blood pressure.

“I let my clothes be my guideline for how much I run or how well or how fast. Instead of working out up to four hours a day, I will be working out a couple of hours or 1 1/2 hours a day, and that will be my life.”

One of the benefits of being on the TV show is having his family involved in getting healthy. Jones, a native of Cherry Point, N.C., said his family has also been working out and eating healthier meals.

“My wife has been in the gym,” he said. “She wasn’t overweight, but she wanted to get in shape. One daughter lost 25 pounds, and another daughter is exercising now.”

Two family members – a daughter and a stepdaughter – are excused from working out. Both are due to deliver Jones’ new grandbabies in three weeks, he said.

Jones said adjusting his diet and including exercise plan will mean results.

“It’s been over 30 years since I had the body of a 19-year-old, and I really feel like that’s what I got back. I know that’s not really the deal. I’m a realist about what I look like and what I am, but I feel like 20 years old again.

“That is the major outlook; that is what I try to reflect … When I put on that uniform, I feel fantastic about me, and my attitude toward the job reflects that.”

Getting to that point doesn’t mean you have to be on a reality TV show, he said. You have to take your own first step.

“No matter what condition you are in, get off the couch and just walk around the block. Start right now. That’s the first step. Don’t try to run a marathon or run a mile. Just don’t overdo it and get disappointed.

“Just start moving.”
‘Biggest Loser’ winners

Danni Allen, a 26-year-old advertising account cordinator from Wheeling, Ill., won “The Biggest Loser” and the $250,000 prize.

She weighed in at at 258 pounds at the beginning of the reality TV show’s 14th season and lost 121 pounds for a total loss of 46.9 percent of her body weight.

Gina McDonald, 47, an attorney and law firm owner, won the at-home prize with a 113-pound weight loss, down to 132 pounds from her starting weight of 245. The Hoover, Ala., resident lost 46.12 percent of her body weight.

Read more from this Tulsa World article at http://www.tulsaworld.com/scene/article.aspx?subjectid=275&articleid=20130321_275_D1_ULNSau238670

Leave a Reply

